iOS: Solving the issue of getting logs from real devices when testing using Appium?

Akarsh Seggemu
Aug 20, 2019

If your tests are passing on simulator and failing on real devices. Finding the issue that is causing the tests to fail on real devices is time consuming. In my case the logs are not being fetched from the real device by Appium. After going through old issues and commits on Appium GitHub source. I found that this issue was solved by Appium but it is not being mentioned anymore in the documentation.

My mac system information,

  • OS_NAME: macOS Mojave

OS_VERSION: 10.14.6

Assuming you have the real device connected to your mac. Try running this command,

idevicesyslog

You will get the following error,

ERROR: Could not start service com.apple.syslog_relay.

If you like my articles please follow me. You can also support me by https://www.buymeacoffee.com/akarshseggemu

--

--

Akarsh Seggemu

IT Team Lead | MSc in Computer Science from Technische Universität Berlin | Writing articles to Empower Software Engineers and IT Leaders